Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Berkshire pork belly (Quebec)

1000 g
$20.00

We have run out of stock for this item.

More information on this product

State: Fresh
Piece(s) :1 × 1000 g
Race:Berkshire
Origin: Québec

Quebec Berkshire pork belly

For foodies, epicureans and connoisseurs who like to take their time in order to do things right, we present you with a brand new challenge! Pork belly is widely known as bacon, the same bacon that you can find in many different types of cuisine. And yet, pork belly is so much more. As you may guess it is located on the belly of the pig and can be turned into ribs, lard, a braisé, and of course that famous bacon that everyone loves so much. The secret of preparing pork belly is...time. First, it is important to brine this fatty meat for several hours, so that it can absorb all the flavors and aromas it deserves. As to the cooking, a low temperature is preferable as it will preserve the collagen and allow the fat to become gentle and tender. Once cooked, let the meat cool down before integrating into a recipe of your choice.

 

Berkshire pork is a very different breed of pork than the ones usually found on the market. This breed of pork is above all chosen for its marbled flesh and the higher pH level which makes its meat darker, more flavourful and more tender than the conventional pork such as the Duroc and the Yorkshire. 

 

We choose to work with farmers that raise their pork on free-range pasture, without growth hormones or antibiotics and with as little stress as possible.  This breeding practice focused on respect for the animal's well-being allows for optimal meat quality while promoting sustainability.

 

 

Tips  :

Cooking time : 4h to 5h at 250ºF

It is recommended to brine the pork belly 24 hours or to coat it with a spice mixture before cooking.

  • Preheat the oven to 250ºF.
  • Score the skin.
  • Coat the pork belly with a spice mixture of your choice.
  • Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Bake for 4,5 to 5 hours until the meat is tender and the skin is crisp.
  • Add to your favorite recipes.

Left Retourner au magasinage
Commande

Votre panier est vide

Flanc de porc Berkshire du Québec (Pork Belly)

1000 g
$21.00

Nous sommes en rupture de stock pour cet article.

Détails sur ce produit

Condition : Frais
Morceau(x) :1 × 1000 g
Race :Berkshire
Provenance : Québec

Flanc de porc Berkshire du Québec (Pork Belly)

Gastronomes, épicurieux et fines bouches qui aiment prendre le temps de bien faire les choses, nous vous présentons un tout nouveau défi. Le flanc de porc est connu de tous grâce au bacon présent dans toutes les cuisines. Par contre, une multitude de recettes peuvent être faites grâce à celui-ci. Situé sur le ventre du porc, il est possible d’en faire du lard salé, des braisés, des côtes levées et même ce fameux bacon que tout le monde apprécie tant. Le secret de la préparation d’un flanc de porc est dans le temps. Il est important de mettre en saumure plusieurs heures cette viande très grasse, afin qu’elle s'imprègne de toutes les saveurs qu’elle mérite. À la cuisson, une basse température sera à privilégier pour conserver le collagène et pour que les gras s'attendrissent tranquillement. Il ne vous restera plus qu’à laisser votre viande refroidir après cuisson et d’en faire la coupe de votre choix.


Le porc Berkshire n’est pas une race de porc comme celle que l'on retrouve généralement dans le commerce. N’ayant pas une croissance rapide, ce porc est choisi avant tout pour sa chair persillée ayant un pH plus élevé afin d’offrir une viande plus goûteuse et tendre que le porc conventionnel tel que le Duroc et le Yorkshire.


En plus d’être élevées au pâturage en air libre, les fermes avec qui nous travaillons produisent des porcs élevés sans hormone de croissance et antibiotique. Cette pratique d’élevage dans le bien-être de l’animal permet une qualité optimale de la viande puisque l’animal ne vit pas de stress.


Conseil  :

Temps de cuisson : 4h à 5h à 250ºF

Il est conseillé de saumurer le flanc de porc 24h à l’avance ou de l’enrober d’un mélange d’épices avant cuisson.

  • Préchauffer le four à 250ºF.
  • Quadriller la peau.
  • Enrober le flanc d’un mélange d’épices de votre choix.
  • Déposer sur une plaque à pâtisserie tapissée de papier parchemin.
  • Cuire pendant 4h30 à 5h jusqu’à ce que la chair soit tendre et la peau croustillante.
  • Intégrer à vos recettes favorites.